“How Does Your Garden Grow?”

“What dreadful hot weather we have! 
It keeps me in a continual state of inelegance.”
-  Jane Austen  

I think today is the 12th or 13th day in a row of Houston area temperatures reaching over 100 degrees.  Are these the dog days of Summer? I feel like I have no energy and not much enthusiasm to get out and about which isn’t good since my sore knee needs a bit of exercise to keep it moving.  So Ms. Nellie II and I took a stroll through our local botanic gardens before noon today to see  how the flowers are surviving this heat.

Water Lily Pond

 

Water Lilies

 

Dusty Peach Bougainvillea

 

"I can reach it!"

 

Summer Nectar

 

Pausing for a Rest

 

Stained Glass Beauty

 

Surviving the Heat

The blooms are doing fine thanks to a great gardening team at the gardens.  I, on the other hand, am melting.  Turn down the a/c I’m headed home to look for my misplaced elegance!    Let me know how your garden grows.

8 responses to ““How Does Your Garden Grow?”

  1. What gorgeous photos! I especially love the butterfly images – so crisp and colorful – but what a great capture of that squirrel!! I’m melting right along with you!

  2. I can totally relate since spending the past several days at the beach. It was way TOO HOT!! We couldn’t even enjoy the beach for any length of time. The water though was much colder than normal which was extremely odd, but refreshing. Lovely images you have here, Deb! You were probably melting over Nellie! :-)

    • Thanks, Jill. I’m still learning my way around Nellie’s additional features that my D40x didn’t have. Even though it is really hot, I wouldn’t mind a few days at the beach. My two day weekends fly by so fast.

  3. the squirrel shot is so cute!!

  4. What gorgeous shots! My garden grows with dandelions!

Leave a Reply

